Halifax courier dating 45 questions on dating
‘...a meeting of manufacturers, who attend the market, was this day held, and it was the opinion of all present, that a Hall, erected in some convenient Place in this Town and Neighbourhood, would be of great publick Utility.’ Leeds Mercury.
Prior to The Piece Hall being built, a cloth market already existed in Halifax.
The Piece Hall would trade for just two hours each week.
293 of The Piece Hall’s 315 rooms are in use and 22 empty.
However, by the 1770s it was increasingly considered unfit for purpose.
Following a public meeting in March 1774, a large group of manufacturers who regularly attended the cloth market resolved on the building of a new hall, to be funded by creating an Association of Subscribers.
” Cloth trading began the next day on Saturday 2 January.
In addition, there is a young explorers’ map featuring items to discover around The Piece Hall.Whilst his body was entombed by John’s disciples, could his head have been later recovered and given burial here?The town’s coat of arms carries an image of the Saint, whilst the Minster - dating back to the twelfth century – has always been dedicated to him.It was agreed that Caygill would lease his land ‘to the merchants and manufacturers of Halifax for 5 shillings a year to be paid for 5000 years, on the condition that a hall of accommodation for manufacturers of worsted and other woollen goods is built on it within five years’.The Piece Hall opens its doors for the first time on New Year’s Day, Friday 1 January 1779.